Day 10: Your guilty pleasure/s.

According to Urban Dictionary, which is the premiere place to find edgy definitions for things, a guilty pleasure is defined as “something that you shouldn’t like, but like anyway”. This tends to apply to things in entertainment, like movies and music. I don’t really like that. You should never feel bad for the things that you like. To me, a guilty pleasure is something that I enjoy, despite all its flaws. In some cases, even because of them. For me, it’s especially because of its flaws.

I feel like my tastes are more eclectic than the average person. One type of music I don’t like is the direction of modern hip-hop that takes over Billboard’s Top 40. They’re all dark and bleak and quiet, they all bleed into each other, and nobody seems to be enjoying themselves. And I have a really perverse desire to listen to those songs sometimes. I don’t consider Desiigner’s song “Panda” to be a good song at all, but I have it on my Spotify playlist and I bump it in all its ridiculous.

But by far, my favourite bad rap song right now is Trinidad James’ “All Gold Everything”. It is one of the most ridiculous things that I think everyone should watch. It’s just good, dumb fun to have when you don’t want to think about what you’re listening to.

Like I said, a true guilty pleasure is something that you would not consider conventionally “good”, but still find enjoyment in, and the granddaddy of them all is Tommy Wiseau’s magnum opus, “The Room”. If you don’t know about “The Room”, I want you to put two hours aside, and watch it. Incoherent dialogue, repetitive scenes, wooden line delivery. All of it is bad, and it comes together in a perfect storm of bad film-making.

It’s even to the point where the director, Tommy Wiseau (who was also the writer, producer, and the freaking star!) wants people to believe he was actually making a dark comedy. “The Room” is the worst movie that everyone needs to watch. By the way, it’s got some seriously awkward sex scenes, so watch out.

Don’t feel bad about liking bad things. Unless you’re a fan of crime, there’s nothing you shouldn’t be “allowed to like”.

TOMORROW: Put your iPod on Shuffle and write down the first ten songs that pop up.

Leave a Reply

