Day 7: Your favourite childhood toys

I know the challenge dictates that I talk about my favourite childhood toys (plural), but I’ll be using this to talk about one of my oldest and longest-running fascinations.

In the Christmas of 1998, my parents got me and my two brothers a Nintendo 64 with a copy of Mario Kart 64. I don’t vividly remember my experience the first time I played the Nintendo 64, but I imagine playing Battle mode more than anything because you couldn’t play Grand Prix mode with more than two players. My parents hated seeing one person left out while the other two played.

Not long after that, we had some new neighbours who also had an Nintendo 64 and we all really hit it off. During the age of the console’s life, the five of us had long summer days of playing Mario Party (the third one is best), Super Smash Bros, and WrestleMania 2000 (even though No Mercy was the superior game). Then, when my family moved to a different city, we both got a PlayStation 2 and kept in touch, still gaming it up. And then in high school, I found myself associating with people who were as passionate about video games as I was.

My childhood when I was the most artistically-inclined in my life and I got most of my inspiration from video games to the point where my grades suffered because I was caught up in my own head, doodling when I should have been working. And now it’s taken me to the point where I wanted to create something that was inspired by action/adventure video games in the form of a full-fledged manuscript.

I don’t really have time in my life nowadays to play video games as actively as I used to. I own a Nintendo 3DS which I play regularly and I usually keep it in my bag whenever I go out, but sitting down to play isn’t really something I do anymore. Despite all that, I don’t know what my life would be like if it weren’t for video games. It freaks me out to think I might not have the passion for art if it weren’t for that.

I’ll always love video games, and I’ve never once wanted to shoot someone for cutting in front of me. Take that, conservative media!

And to think it all started with this.

TOMORROW: A moment you felt the most satisfied with your life

Leave a Reply

