Day 3: Your top five pet peeves.

It’s time I looked deep within myself about what pisses me off. Now I try to keep a positive outlook on life, avoiding negativity and the like. But nobody is immune to being annoyed at things I see people do and this is a top five of what annoys me most (at the moment) in no particular order:

ONE: Open The Door With Your Damn Hands

If you or someone you know is wheelchair-bound, tell me: Does this bother you at all? If I were in a situation where I physically had to use the Automatic button to get through a door, it would bug the hell out of me to see people too lazy to just pull a damn door. If you’re carrying a lot of stuff and you can’t open the door, then fine. It’s just seeing people too lazy to do something that doesn’t take a lot of effort that rubs me the wrong way.

TWO: Scary vs. Startling

I saw Get Out the day it was released. It’s really good, I highly recommend it. What I remember most is the actual viewing experience, like the scenes, which I won’t spoil for you, that got the audience to applaud. But then you have this moment in the second act where the main character is walking down a dark hallway and a woman walks down a perpendicular hallway behind him and a loud, screechy violin chord blared. Everyone lost their shit, while I was sitting there thinking, “Why are you screaming? That wasn’t even scary.”

What makes horror so difficult to do well is that what’s scary is complete subjective. Jump scares are loud noises in your ear that startle you when you least expect it. Something scary will keep you thinking about it long after you’ve experienced it. I’ll stop thinking about a jump scare not long after it’s happened. Jump scares are a human reaction. Everyone is afraid of them, and that’s why they bother me so much. There’s no such thing as a well thought out jump scare.

 

THREE: The Tomatometer

Rotten Tomatoes’ Tomatometer is not a rating. It’s a percentage of people who have a positive opinion of a movie or TV show. If twenty critics gave a movie a 6/10, it would still get 100%.

FOUR: Pointless Complaining

Generally, I don’t think complaining is inherently a bad thing. It’s good to vent your frustrations about things. It’s when that way of thinking bleeds into things that aren’t worth complaining about that rubs me the wrong way. Complainers complain about why things don’t go their way instead of figuring how how to turn their failure into success. It doesn’t get you anywhere. It also rewires your brain for negativity and that’s not something I want in my life.

If you want to see how annoying useless complaining can be, the next time you go out do two things. First of all, make it a point to not complain for the entire day. At the very least, complain as little as possible. Secondly, make a conscious effort to pay attention to how often you hear the people around you complain about things that don’t matter. I’ve been doing this for the past few weeks and it’s kind of mind-blowing to see how often people just say that they’re tired, not bothering to adjust their lifestyle. People just really love complaining because being negative is much easier than being positive.

Yes. I see the irony in this being a pet peeve of mine. In a blog where I complain about stuff.

Here’s a Globe and Mail article on how complaining screws up your brain.

FIVE: Pineapple on Pizza

If you ask me, you’re the crazy one for not liking pineapple on pizza.

That felt good.

TOMORROW: Your views on religion.

Leave a Reply

