Day 2: Where you’d like to be in ten years.

I remember being asked what I wanted to be when I grew up when I was five. I said I wanted to be a bus driver. I assume it’s because I had a really nice bus driver and I concluded that all bus drivers were really nice. Ten years later, at age fifteen, I had the broad goal of becoming an artist. It was what I was passionate about at the time. Skip ahead ten years to now. I took two years of design at college, which didn’t amount to much for my future career. I still have passion for art but now I have a new passion: writing. And this is what I want for the next ten years.

Your teens are the time when you should be figuring out what you want to do with your life, and your twenties are when you should be doing whatever you can to realize those goals. That’s where I am now. I want to do everything in my power to make writing work as an actual job, even if it’s just on the side. In the next ten years I hope to have the rest of the trilogy I have planned completed. Right now, my priority is getting it done; I’d rather not think about how big of an audience I want.

If you read yesterday’s blog, then you can assume I’d like to be in the process of starting a family in the next decade too. Being passive about it gets you nowhere, a lesson that I took way to long to learn. A decade from now, I aim to have this goal fully realized.

I once heard that in your late twenties, your brain solidifies and the person you are at that point is essentially the person you will be for the rest of your life. That freaked me out because I would hate to have chronic procrastination affecting my life. I want to be the kind of person that doesn’t need to “find” motivation, that can just get up and go get things done. That includes using less time-suck websites (like social media and YouTube) and replacing that time with work and social interactions. Or at the very least, using them productively.

Only focusing on the end goal, especially one that’s ten years away, is really intimidating. From now on, I’ll be focusing on the now, working little by little to be the person I want to be by the time I turn thirty-five.

I am now closer to thirty than I am to twenty. Where he hell did the time go?

TOMORROW: Your top five pet peeves.

Leave a Reply

