I Can’t Read eBooks

So when got into the early stages of my novel – “SHIELD”, working title – something important dawned on me: I don’t read. Until last year, I can’t tell you the last time I actually read a book for recreational purposes. I fixed that this year, promising to read 25 books in 2015 (right on track as of now). I’ve spent the year reading mostly fantasy, contemporary, and sci-fi.

One of the many books I purchased this year was “Vicious” by VE Schwab. I bought this due to all the hype surrounding it. Everyone loves this book and I don’t recall actually seeing someone with a negative opinion of it. The second reason was the fact that the book was $2.99 on Google Books. I couldn’t say no to that, now could I? I thought I could jump into it, fall in love with it and hop along on the “Vicious” hype train. Not the case, apparently.

All year, I haven’t had a problem with reading through an average-sized book in a week or less, but in this case, I’ve had the book on my phone for about two months and I haven’t been able to get more than a third of it done. Why? Because it’s a book on my phone, which is kind of an oxymoron if you think about it. Here, we have a book, an entertainment medium that requires your undivided attention for hours at a time. Here, we have a device that gets you a myriad of bite-sized information so you can quickly go to the next piece of bite-sized information because paying attention is for chumps.

This experience has taught me that I just can’t force myself to read books on a computer screen, no matter how hard I try. I guess I’m a victim of our current society. It’s really difficult to focus on a book on a device that has a whole bunch of cool shit I can look at instead. I know I’m not the only one who suffers from this problem, and maybe someday I can get over this problem, but until then, I’ll just focus on physical books. Flipping through pages is a lot more satisfying that swiping anyway.

By the way, “Vicious” sounds awesome, so I’m going to have to buy a physical copy of it.

Leave a Reply

